Apple Cinnamon Scone Recipe!

So, I was really hesitant about posting something on here on my own at first because I’m not as funny as Nesly when I write, but then I thought, “who currrrrs?” and now I’m here. Posting by myself and what not. I know, I know. Such a big girl move. Hahaha.

Anyway, today I have an apple cinnamon scone recipe for you all! Scones are probably my most favorite things to bake and they’re super easy and delicious. I needed to find a way to use the apples that me and my oldest sister picked like, two weeks ago. They were just sitting in the fridge (because cold apples are only the best) and I didn’t want them to go to waste. I was either gonna make an apple pie or apple scones, but I’ve never really made apple scones before. And BOOM. My oven birthed my apple cinnamon scones with caramel drizzle glaze whatever you wanna call it. LEZZ GET STARTED.

Image

So the ingredients you will be needing are:

THE BASICS of scones:

  • Baking powder
  • Baking soda
  • White sugar
  • All-purpose flour
  • Butter
  • Greek yogurt

For the apple cinnamon part, apples and cinnamon, of course. Oh, and you’ll also need some powdered sugar and vanilla extract, but that’s for later.

Image

First, slice the apples, peel them, then chop them up into little tiny pieces. I only used one huge apple, but there wasn’t really very many apple pieces in the scones when I finished baking them, so I suggest using two. But it’s up to you!

Image

After chopping them all up, dump the pieces into a small pot, over medium-low heat, and add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I stirred the apples and cinnamon together for about a minute and a half, or until they got a little soft. Didn’t really pay attention to time.

Image

For the measurements of the basic scone ingredients they each measure out to:

  • 2 tablespoons of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/3 cup of white sugar and
  • 3 cups of all-purpose flour

Make sure to determine between teaspoon and tablespoon because having an excess of powder or soda really does make a difference. I had to learn that the hard way. Hahaha.

Image

Then all that up there^^^^ was combined into the mixer shown down here vvvvv

Image

Image

Then, measure out 1 cup of Greek yogurt, no matter the brand, and 1/2 cup (or 1 stick) of butter. It’s important to use cold butter so when it’s mixed with the dry ingredients, the dough isn’t mushy and hard to mold into scone form.

Image

After mixing the dry ingredients with the Greek yogurt and butter, the mixture should look a little something like this:

Image

It should be crummy like the bread crumbs that Hansel and Gretel left behind as they were walking to their Grandma’s house. No? Okay. HAHA

Image

Turn the mixture over onto a floured surface and mush it all together. But before mushing it all together, put some flour on your hands because having dough stick to your hands isn’t cool. Like the oven you should have been preheating at 350 degrees. Forgot to mention that part earlier. HAHA oops.

Form the dough into a log, like so:

Image

You’re gonna want to use a knife as sharp as the cheese on this pizza I’m eating as I’m writing this. Ahehehe

For these scones, I wanted to make them mini so I cut the dough log in half and cut triangles from the two smaller logs. Mini scones are cuter than regular sized scones anyway. But if you wanna make them regular sized, don’t cut them in half!

Image

I put the scones on oven-safe mats that my mom purchased at Costco and placed them in the oven and let them bake for about 20 minutes. If you don’t have these silicone mats, you can always just use parchment paper.

Image

While the scones are baking in the oven, you can start working on the glaze! Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of powdered sugar
  • 4 tablespoons of butter
  • 2 tablespoons of milk and
  • 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Image

In order to make the glaze, you will:

  • Melt the butter in a small saucepan
  • Stir in the brown sugar and milk
  • Keep whisking until there are no more clumps
  • Let the mixture cool down
  • Transfer into another bowl
  • Stir in the vanilla and powdered sugar
  • Whisk till there’s no tomorrow

Keep whisking until, again, there are no more lumps or chunks and should look a little something like this:

Image

Drizzle over the scones, then enjoy!

Scones usually don’t taste as good after one day, so only eat what you can make! Or just give them to your friends, like what I do!

Thanks for reading!

— Elaine

Image

Leave a Reply

